42 hours of creativity

The annual interdisciplinary design/build competition (42 Hours of RE_Creativity) has been reimagined a bit for the 2019 season. This year’s makeathon challenges student teams – with projects that range from the practical to the fanciful to the abstract. Prizes from $500-$1,500 are awarded by a team of invited judges from the anks of University faculty and staff and industry professionals.


Teams of 3-6 students must have at least 1 team member who is a current resident of Bursley Hall. Teams must also represent at least 2 different North Campus schools or colleges (School of Music, Theatre & Dance; College of Engineering; Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design; or A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture + Urban Planning)

Don’t have a team but want to participate? You can register as an individual to be placed on a student team!

Individuals must register by end of day on Thursday, October 10
Teams must register by noon on Friday, October 11


This year’s 42 Hours of Creativity theme is Science & Fiction. Student teams are challenged to make something – a physically built component – that tells a story with science or technology as a central component, telling a story that could be true but isn’t – perhaps an alternate reality, a peek into the future, or reimagined present. 

Student teams may sign up for advising sessions in preparation for the makeathon. Sessions will be held Tuesday, October 8 and Wednesday, October 9 from 5-7pm in Bursley Hall and Wednesday, October 16 from 5-8pm in the Living Arts office.

Student teams may claim up to $50 in reimbursement for supplies purchased (receipts required for reimbursement) but are encouraged to utilize found or recycled materials when possible. A list of available supplies is available HERE.


42 Hours of Creativity will have a home base in Bursley Hall. However, maker spaces in the Duderstadt Center will also be available for student teams to work throughout the makeathon.


The 2019 Makeathon will kick off at 5pm on Friday, October 18 – at least one representative from each student team must be present for the kick off session. Teams can work as needed until the end of the makeathon at 12pm on Sunday, October 20. At that time, projects will be presented (12-3pm) for the judging panel. Awards will be announced during a reception on Sunday, October 20 at 7pm. At least one representative from each student team must be present to receive awards.

2019 judges

  • Greg Wakefield, ArtsEngine Faculty Director; College of Engineering; School of Music, Theatre & Dance
  • Amy Hortop, College of Engineering
  • Mitchell Lawrence, Taubman College of Architecture + Urban Planning Student
  • Nick Julius, Wilson Student Team Project Center
  • Deb Mexicotte, ArtsEngine Managing Director

First Place

Team Spiritus

Joseph Chrisman,
Lauren Strawn, Harrison Biggs, Talbryn Porter, and Cindy Zhao

Second Place

Team FSB

Ayman Said, Paloma Calvin, Farzad Siraj, Hannah Baltzan, Zareef Safdar, Edward Ivanac

Third Place

Team Time Machine

Taylor Estes, Antonio Pollard, Vanessa Mkwe, Xavier Fischer

Third Place

Team Too Old for
This S#!t

Cameron Kabacinski, Adam Schmidt, Isaiah Keeler, Maxwell Lipari